

REGION BY-LAWS



Part 1 Operational By-laws

1. APPLICATION

These bylaws shall apply to the following regions:

LNP – FAR NORTH AND GULF REGION

LNP – NORTH REGION

LNP – CENTRAL REGION

LNP – SOUTH WEST REGION

2. OBJECTS AND STRUCTURE

Objects, structure and role of the Regions shall be as outlined in the constitution of the LNP Section I.

3. FINANCE

An annual levy to the Region maybe payable by State Electorate Councils.

The amount each year shall be fixed at the Annual General Meeting of the Region (a figure of \$0.00 is acceptable).

All monies received shall be banked. The bank account may be operated upon by any two of the following:-

Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, or Secretary/Treasurer.

All transactions must be endorsed by a meeting of the Regional Council.

4. MANAGEMENT

The management of the Region shall be vested in a Management Committee [known as the Regional Council – as per clause I.5 (d)] which will consist of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer or (Secretary/Treasurer), and all Chairs of the State Electorate Councils and Federal Divisions who are fully or partly encompassed by the region.

The Management Committee will meet when due to special circumstances, if it is not practicable to call a full General Meeting.

The quorum for a meeting of the Management Committee shall be 50 percent of its members plus one.

5. **REGIONAL CONFERENCE MEMBERSHIP**

- a) All Members resident in the Region are welcome to attend Regional Conference.
- b) Voting delegates to the Regional Conference will comprise
 - i. the Regional Chair, Vice-chair, Secretary and Treasurer (or Secretary/Treasurer),
 - ii. the chair of each State Electorate Council whose State Electorate is within the boundaries of the Region,
 - iii. the chair of each Federal Divisional Council whose electoral division

is contained wholly or partly within the boundaries of the Region,

- iv. up to five delegates from each Branch, other than a Women's Branch or a Young Liberal National Branch, which
 - A. operates within the boundaries of the Region, and
 - B. is not prevented by clause F.6(f) of the Constitution from sending delegates to State Convention,
- v. each Member who is the parliamentary member for a State electoral district within the Region,
- vi. each Member who is the parliamentary member for a Commonwealth electoral division contained wholly or partly within the boundaries of the Region,
- vii. each Member who is a Senator for Queensland who resides within the Region,
- viii. two delegates from each Women's Branch and each Young Liberal National Branch which operates within the boundaries of the Region, and
- ix. Honorary Life Members who reside within the Region.
- c) Branches will elect their own delegates and alternate delegates.
- d) If a delegate is unable to attend the meeting of the Regional Conference and an alternate delegate chosen by the Branch is not able to attend, the delegate may appoint a Member residing within the same State electoral district as his or her proxy.
- e) A delegate may not hold more than two proxies.

6. MEETINGS

Each region shall meet at least two (2) times in a calendar year.

7. QUORUM

A quorum shall consist of fifteen (15) delegates and, in addition, a majority of Electorate Councils must be represented at any meeting.

8. **RESOLUTIONS**

Meetings may deal with Resolutions:-

- a) (1) Dealings with development, platform and policy as it applies to the Region.
 - (2) Any matters of National, State or Regional importance.
 - (3) Matters of general interest to the Region.
- b) Such resolutions to be submitted to State Council or State Convention.
- c) Member Electorate Councils may at their discretion submit similar resolutions direct from their individual Electorate Councils without regard to decisions arrived at by the Region.

9. ALTERATIONS TO BY-LAWS

A proposal to recommend a change to these bylaws to State Council shall be given by Notice of Motion to an Annual General Meeting furnished sixty (60) days before such meeting is held.

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE REGIONS

- **10.** The Regions existing at the commencement of the Redistribution 2017 Transitional By-laws are dissolved.
- 11. The following 12 regions are established –

Regions	State Electorates	
Capricornia	Gladstone Rockhampton	Keppel
Central	Callide Gregory	Mirani
Far North and Gulf	Barron River Cairns Cook	Hill Mulgrave Traeger
Gold Coast	Bonney Broadwater Burleigh Coomera Currumbin Gaven	Mermaid Beach Mudgeeraba Southport Surfers Paradise Theodore
Metro North	Aspley Clayfield Pine Rivers Everton Kurwongbah McConnel	Murrumba Nudgee Redcliffe Sandgate Stafford
Metro South	Greenslopes Bulimba Capalaba Chatsworth Lytton Macalister	Mansfield Oodgeroo Redlands Springwood Waterford
Metro West	Cooper Inala Maiwar Miller Moggill Mount Ommaney	South Brisbane Toohey Ferny Grove Stretton Algester
North	Hinchinbrook Burdekin Mackay Mundingburra	Thuringowa Townsville Whitsunday

Ipswich and West Moreton	Bundamba Ipswich Ipswich West Jordan	Lockyer Logan Scenic Rim Woodridge
South West	Warrego Condamine Southern Downs	Toowoomba North Toowoomba South
Sunshine Coast	Bancroft Morayfield Buderim Caloundra Kawana Noosa	Maroochydore Ninderry Pumicestone Glasshouse Nicklin
Wide Bay	Gympie Hervey Bay Burnett	Maryborough Nanango Bundaberg