Party structure

The LNP is a “grassroots” party and works through a structure of party units fully supported by the membership.

Members are automatically assigned to a Branch, State Electorate Council, Federal Divisional Council and a Region. All women members of the Party are also entitled to participate in the LNP Women. Members between the age of 16 and 30 inclusive can elect to join the Young LNP.


Branches are the LNP’s local small party unit. They concern themselves with the progress of the district in which their members reside and may co-operate with other Branches or non-political organisations in matters of mutual concern. A Branch is entitled to send a delegate to State Convention.

State Electorate Councils (SECs)

An SEC consists of all members that reside within a State electorate boundary. It elects office bearers, coordinates with local Branches, contributes to policy formation, sends delegates to State Council and State Convention, preselects candidates for State elections and assists the endorsed candidate’s campaign.

Federal Divisional Councils (FDC)

FDCs are based on Federal electorate boundaries and are responsible for selecting LNP candidates to contest Federal elections and assisting on their campaigns. An FDC elects office bearers, contributes to policy formation and sends delegates to State Council and State Convention.


The LNP is made up of 12 regions throughout Queensland. The Chair of each Region sits as a member of the LNP’s State Executive. Regions meet at least twice a calendar year with one meeting being a policy forum and the other an annual general meeting. Regions are made up of SECs, with a Region’s membership being drawn from all members that reside within those SECs. A Regional Chair can form a Regional Council which is responsible for communications, the allocation of resources and the promotion of the Party to all Party Units that sit within the Region.

Policy Committees

The organisation and the parliamentary team work together to develop policy for ratification at State Council. A number of policy committees are established to address the broad range of issues that affect the state and nation.

State Convention

The State Convention is held annually and comprises all members of State Council, delegates elected by SECs, branch delegates, LNP Women and YLNP Executives and their branch delegates. The State Convention determines the general policy of the Party, considers motions submitted by Party Units and also business submitted by State Council and the State Executive. The State Convention elects the President and Vice President.

State Council

The State Council effectively exercises full control over the Party’s affairs. It meets at least twice a year and comprises the State Executive, the FDC and SEC Chairs, Federal and State Parliamentary Members, LNP elected Local Government Members, Honorary Life Members, Past Presidents, Policy Committee Chairs and the Young LNP and LNP Women State Executives.

State Executive

The State Executive has the power to manage all the affairs of the Party. It exercises full control over all members and Party Units, receives financial statements and reports from Party Units and meets frequently. It consists of the President, the Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Regional Chairs, Federal and State Parliamentary Leaders, a Local Authority representative, the Treasurer, the Trustees, the Honorary Legal Adviser, the Chair of the Policy Standing Committee and the Presidents of the YLNP and LNP Women.

Liberal National Party Women

All financial women members of the LNP are entitled to join their local Women’s Regional Council and Branch. The primary functions of LNP Women include encouraging more women to be politically active and to seek representation at all levels of government.

Young Liberal National Party (Young LNP)

The Young LNP comprises members between the ages 16 and 30 years inclusive. It is a movement of like minded young individuals dedicated to changing the political landscape in the state and nation. Its focus is on campaigning, policy development, education, training and great social events.

Parliamentary Teams

The purpose of a political party is to have its candidates elected to implement its policies in government. The LNP contests elections at all levels of government in Australia – the Australian Parliament (Senate and House of Representatives), the State Parliament and specified Local Government elections.

The Parliamentary Parties and Council teams are the public face of the Party reflecting the Party’s philosophy. The relationship between the organisational and parliamentary and local authority wings is one of unity of purpose and an understanding of the role and responsibilities of each.

Local Government Teams

LNP Local Government teams consist of members elected to a Local Authority as candidates endorsed by the Party. Each team is responsible for the implementation of the LNP platform in the sphere of its Local Authority as far as is possible.

State Parliament Team

The LNP State Parliament team consists of members elected as candidates endorsed by the LNP. It elects its Leader, Deputy Leader and other necessary officers. The LNP party team is responsible for the implementation of the LNP platform and takes into consideration policy decisions of State Council and State Convention.

Australian Parliamentary Members

LNP Australian Parliamentary Members and Senators govern their affairs in accordance with the rules of the parliamentary parties of which they are respectively members. It is the responsibility of members of the Party in the Australian Parliament to implement the LNP’s Party platform as far as is possible.